Tourist visa and payments in Indonesia

Bunaken near Bali

Bunaken near Bali ©Ilse Reijs and Jan-Noud Hutten/fLICK

The official currency in Indonesia is the rupee (Rp). You can use large-scale international cards, traveler checks, but you can also pay with cash. There are areas, such as Maluku and Papua, where the payment card is rarely accepted and ATMs are scarce in these areas.

To enter Indonesia you will probably need a visa. The citizens of the United States can obtain a visa through the Visa On Arrival (VOA), it is granted for a period that is not exceeding 30 days, and its delivery charge varies between 10 USD (for a stay of 7 days) and 25 USD (for 30 days).


Deals provided by

Payment methods in Indonesia

Indonesia is considered to be the cheapest Asian tourist destination. In big cities, the ATMs are numerous and they accept Visa and Mastercard. However, it is advisable to notify the bank that issued your card before you go on vacation, this way you will be informed about the use of ATMs in Indonesia, which are the taxes and fees for withdrawal. In general, ATMs here have a limit withdrawal, the equivalent of 2 million rupees/day and a minimum of 400,000 rupees.

Bali in Indonesia

Bali in Indonesia ©BEST PHOTO/fLICK

They accept USD at the exchange points in Indonesia and, more recently, euro as well, if the notes are not deteriorated or used too much. In regions outside Java and Bali, where you can get the best exchange rate, it is difficult to find a bank or exchange office that accepts an other currency than USD. As a general rule, the more you change, the better the exchange rate is. Before you exchange your money, check the amount of the commission, most often it is 10% or more.

Bunaken near Bali

Bunaken near Bali ©Ilse Reijs and Jan-Noud Hutten/Flick

The tourist visa in Indonesia

Only 11 countries or territories have access to Indonesia without a visa, these include Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Hong Kong Special Area (Hong Kong SAR), Macau Special Area (Macau SAR), Malaysia, Morocco, Peru, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The countries can get a visa in Indonesia through the On Arrival program include : Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom and the United States of America.

After arriving in Indonesia, you will be required to visit the local police to register the stay. This action is considered to be fulfilled once you have checked into a hotel.

Mount Bromo in Indonesia

Mount Bromo in Indonesia ©MAZZALIARMADI IT/Flick


Leave a Reply