Brief Introduction to Indonesia

Indonesia ©sara-marlowe/Flick

We all know something about Indonesia, we heard of Bali, Borneo, Sumatra or the tsunami, but only few have an overall image of this beautiful country.

We want to introduce you this diversified paradise of Oceania, that lies in the northwest of Australia with its islands scattered in the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean.

We present you a brief introduction to Indonesia, so you can understand this beautiful country and to easily choose which part is closer to your heart.

Deals provided by

Indonesia is officially called the Republic of Indonesia and has 17 508 islands, which are divided in 7 regions and 33 provinces. We proposed to briefly present you every region. Even if only 6000 of its islands are inhabited, Indonesia has a populations of 238 million people, therefore is the fourth most populous country in the world.

You should also know that it is a presidential republic with parliament and president and it is also being the country with the largest number of Muslims.

The 33 provinces of Indonesia are grouped in 7 regions: Sumatra, Java, Lesser Sunda Islands, Kalimantan, Sulawesi, Maluku Islands, Western New Guinea.


Sumatra is one of the largest islands in Indonesia. In the past people called it the Island of Gold. A journey through Sumatra is interesting because each province has its own culture and ethnic groups. Sumatra is divided into nine provinces: Aceh, North Sumatra, West Sumatra, Riau, Jambi, Bengkulu, South Sumatra, Banka Belitung and Lampung.

Sumatra ©Max Grabert/Flick


Java is the most populated island of Indonesia, more than half of the inhabitants live on the island also known as the island of 100 volcanoes. Jakarta, the capital of Indonesia is also located in Java. Tourism plays a major role in Java but the main activity is the cultivation of rice. Java is divided into the following provinces: Region of Jakarta, Banten, West Java, Central Java, Region of Yogyakarta and East Java

Java ©sara marlowe, calflier001/Flick

Lesser Sunda Islands

The Lesser Sunda Islands are a group of small islands being the sparkling green gems of Indonesia. These breathtaking islands in Sumatra are divided into the following provinces: Bali, West Nusa Tenggara and East Nusa Tenggara.

Lesser Sunda Islands ©tropicaLiving – Jessy Eykendorp, NASA Goddard Photo and Video/Flick


Kalimantan is the second largest island in the world and Indonesia shares it with Malaysia and Brunei Darusalam. Kalimantan is famous of the Dayak tribe and its tropical forests with medium height mountains, rivers with beautiful waterfalls, lakes, swamps and tropical forests. The Indonesian part of the island is divided into the following provinces: North Kalimantan, East Kalimantan, Central Kalimantan, West Kalimantan and South Kalimantan.

Kalimantan ©netaholic13, Utenriksdept/Flick

Sulawesi Island

Sulawesi Island is also called the “Orchid of the Equator” with four peninsulas around three main bays. The island has many lakes and rivers and is divided into the following provinces: North Sulawesi, Gorontalo, Central Sulawesi, West Sulawesi, South Sulawesi and South East Sulawesi.

Sulawesi ©zhaffsky, prilfish/Flick

Maluku Island

Maluku consists of a thousand islands, also known as the Spice Islands, place of origin of the nutmeg and the clove. Maluku is divided in two provinces: Maluku and North Maluku


Maluku ©polapix, Prayudi Hartono/Flick

Western New Guinea

Western New Guinea is the second biggest island  and it is one of the last misterious places of wilderness on the earth. Its endless jungles are less impenetrable than the Amazonas. Western New Guinea is divided in two provinces: Papua and West Papua.

West New Guinea ©Prayudi Hartono/Flick

We have complete our short introduction to Indonesia with information about the weather.

Those who want to visit Indonesia have consider the island’s tropical climate with two seasons: rainy and dry seasons. The dry season is between June and October, and the rainy season is between November and March. These may slightly vary depending on the specific island.

The temperature varies depending on the season and the region, but it is usually 28 °C (82 F) at the coast, and 23 °C (73 F) in the high mountains. If we speak of Indonesia, we have to mention the volcanoes. There are about 400 of them on the islands, and at least 130 are active.

Leave a Reply